San Miguel Beermen 109
Talk N Text Tropang Texters 86


cabagnot 121914

Alex Cabagnot got a warm welcome back party on Friday as he tallied 13 points, six rebounds, and six assists in San Miguel Beer’s 109-86 series opener win against Talk ‘N Text in their best-of-7 semifinals.

And the 32-year-old guard is just happy to contribute to the Beermen’s cause.

“Arwind played well, June Mar played well. I’m just trying to support those guys. I don’t know half of the plays yet, but my teammates played well,” he said.

Though he has only participated in four practice sessions with the Beermen, Cabagnot can already attest that this is a different squad than that team he left when he was dealt after last season’s Philippine Cup.

“It’s night and day. June Mar is improving. Last year, he was already one of our go-to guys. But now it’s evident, he is the go-to guy.  He was good but he’s even better now,” said the 6-foot-1 playmaker, also baring that he’ll be bringing the same basketball knowhow that helped the franchise remain a contender during his first stint for five years.

“It’s the same. I have a lot of experience to vest upon my teammates, and if that’s what I could do and what I could share to help the team, it’s all good,” said Cabagnot.

Also, he thinks that this is his chance to make up for his shortcomings in the past, including his last conference with the then-Petron Blaze Boosters when he suffered a plantar fascia in Game 2 of their semifinal series against Rain or Shine.

“Gusto kong bumawi kasi I tore my plantar fascia on (Philippine Cup semifinals) Game 2 before I got traded, when we got to the semifinals this time last year. It’s more fun if you make it to the Finals of the All-Filipino ( Philippine Cup),” he said. “I think everybody has to contribute in his own way.”

And so far, Cabagnot is happy with the team’s potential.

“I always like our chances,” he said. “June Mar is playing well and Arwind is going to do Arwind stuff. I know how he plays so sana magtuloy-tuloy na. God willing.” (RL)

Follow Us

Other Stories:

Recent Stories:

Complete stories on our Digital Edition newsstand for tablets, netbooks and mobile phones; 14-issue free trial. About to step out? Get breaking alerts on your mobile.phone. Text ON INQ BREAKING to 4467, for Globe, Smart and Sun subscribers in the Philippines.

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of INQUIRER.net. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

Copyright © , PBA

To subscribe to the Philippine Daily Inquirer newspaper in the Philippines, call +63 2 896-6000 for Metro Manila and Metro Cebu or email your subscription request here.

Factual errors? Contact the Philippine Daily Inquirer's day desk. Believe this article violates journalistic ethics? Contact the Inquirer's Reader's Advocate. Or write The Readers' Advocate: c/o Philippine Daily Inquirer Chino Roces Avenue corner Yague and Mascardo Streets, Makati City, Metro Manila, Philippines Or fax nos. +63 2 8974793 to 94