• share this

Collegiate stars at forefront as 2016 PBA D-League unfolds

06:20 PM January 19, 2016
Kevin Ferrer and Ed Daquioag (left, middle) play opposite each other in the upcoming PBA D-League Aspirants Cup.

Kevin Ferrer and Ed Daquioag (left, middle) play opposite each other in the upcoming PBA D-League Aspirants Cup.

Former teammates will be on opposing sides while college rivals join forces as the 2016 PBA D-League Season comes off wraps on Thursday.

Kevin Ferrer and Ed Daquioag, who spearheaded University of Santo Tomas’ finals run in the UAAP Season 78 find themselves on different benches this time.


Ferrer will be joining forces with ex-rivals Gelo Alolino and Kyle Neypes for UP QRS/Jam Liner, which also has former pro Juneric Baloria in the fold.

Daquioag, meanwhile, teamed up with former Far Eastern University stars in Mac Belo, Russel Escoto and Roger Pogoy to form an interesting Phoenix Petroleum core.


FEU beat UST in three games for the UAAP championship with Belo named Finals MVP.

Overall, nine teams will be gunning for the 2016 Aspirants’ Cup crown with Caida tagged as the favorite.

The Tile Masters will be led by one of the best point guards in collegiate basketball today in Jiovani Jalalon, Dexter Maiquez, top draft pick Jason Perkins, Jonathan Grey, Roider Cabrera and Chris Javier.

The Tile Masters, though, are expected to have their work cut out for them with reigning Foundation Cup champion Cafe France also eyeing another title run.

The Bakers will be bolstered by the addition of D-League veterans Paul Zamar and Mar Villahermosa to go along with their Rod Ebondo and the rest of Centro Escolar University players.

The rest of the opposition are also primed make a deep run.

Tanduay Light secured the services of Von Pessumal, Rudy Lingganay, Fonso Gotladera and Ryan Wetherell while returning teams Wangs Basketball and BDO-NU won’t be pushovers as well.


Wangs will parade Clark Bautista, Gwyne Capacio and Francis Munsayac while BDO-NU has its usual reliables in tow with Cameroonian center Alfred Aroga and guards Paolo Javelona and Jay Alejandro in tow.

The Mindanao Aguilas will bank on Taylor Wetherell and former University of the East players in Gino Jumao-as and Ken Acibar while the AMA Titans have Julian Sargent, Gab Dagangon, and Mark Romero.

For more PBA D-League stories, visit the official website.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2019 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.